Summertime, and the living is easy!

Hello all!

Sorry for the long delay, but I am back and officially done with one year of graduate school! Time really does crawl by when you have tons of papers to write.

But, now that one year is down, my focus is now all about South Africa! In preparing for the trip I somehow overlooked the most important part – the passport! So, thanks to the US Post Office and expedited fees (ouch), that’s been taken care of. I’ve traveled before, but going internationally is a much different process, a little daunting, but exciting as well! In addition to the passport, there’s the matter of insurance, student traveler’s card, registering with the NYU student abroad directory, and a host of other matters that go into making this trip run smoothly.

With the break from classes, I’ve taken the time to enjoy the summer time out here in New Jersey, and we’re in a nice period of warmth with little humidity. Speaking of weather and of South Africa, here’s an interesting fact: Did you know that the wintertime for South Africa is actually our summertime? Yup, that’s right, and July happens to be the coldest month of the year. If that’s not ironic, I don’t know what it is! So, while I dreamed of walking around in safari shorts and sandals, the reality will be more like pants and sweaters.According to southafrica.info, the weather will be dry, sunny, crisp days and cold nights, so its similar to the fall. (I’m packing a pair of shorts in case we get a hot day!)

I’m actually more a mild climate person, give me a little bit of warmth and I’m happy. So, I’m making sure I enjoy the warm weather out here before heading off into the South African winter!

What season do you prefer the most? And have you traveled anywhere where the climate is drastically different from where you came from? How did you deal with it?

Mercy

Leave a Reply

